San Jacinto College District Board Meeting Minutes

May 1, 2017

The Board of Trustees of the San Jacinto Community College District met at 7:00 p.m., Monday, May 1, 2017, in Room 104 of the Thomas S. Sewell District Administration Building, 4624 Fairmont Parkway, Pasadena, Texas, for the Regular Board Meeting.

Board of Marie Flickinger **Trustees:** Brad Hance

Chancellor:

Dan Mims, Chair

John Moon, Jr., Secretary

Keith Sinor, Assistant Secretary

Dr. Ruede Wheeler Larry Wilson, Vice Chair

Brenda Hellyer

Others Present: Kevin Adams Hunter Hollis Bill Raffetto

Clare Iannelli Nikolas Reuter Amy Austin Joshua Banks Sallie Kay Janes Nikole Reuter Katelynn Barlow Mark Johnson Shelley Rinehart Dean Barnes Alena Johnston Sarah Smith Rhonda Bell Brenda Jones Danny Snooks Pam Campbell Bryan Jones Rob Stanicic Cristina Cárdenas Smita Karihaloo John Stauffer Teri Crawford Tami Kelly Chris Talley

Suzanne DeBlanc Ann Kokx-Templet Steve Trncak Jacob Dodfelter David LeMaster Elizabeth Valasquez Landon Duncan Chet Lewis Van Wigginton Chris Duke Laurel Williamson Chris Lopez Dawn Eaton Craig Zimmerman Tanya Madrigal Kenneth English Elizabeth McKinley Joanna Zimmermann

Kevin McKisson

Joseph Zwiercan

Jay Gish Stephanie McSheehy

George González Kevin Morris

Amanda Fenwick

Rebecca Goosen Lambrini Nicopoulos Abbie Grubb Catherine O'Brien Allatia Harris Alexander Okwonna

Joseph Hebert Jeff Parks
Zariah Hedge John Patterson

Call the Meeting to order:

Chair Dan Mims called the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees to order at 7:06 p.m.

Roll Call of Board Members:

Marie Flickinger Brad Hance John Moon, Jr. Keith Sinor

Dr. Ruede Wheeler Larry Wilson

Invocation and Pledges to the Flags:

The invocation was given by Allatia Harris. The pledges to the American flag and the Texas flag were led by Marie Flickinger.

Special Announcements, Recognitions, and Presentations:

- 1. Dr. Brenda Jones recognized the South Campus Web Society Chapter. Dr. Abbie Grubb, Dr. Eddie Weller (not present), Alena Johnston, and Jay Gish were recognized.
- 2. The Provosts, Dr. Brenda Jones, Dr. Bill Raffetto, and Van Wigginton, recognized the 2017 Phi Theta Kappa Distinguished Honors students. Dr. Jones recognized Stephanie McSheehy, Elizabeth Valasquez, Smita Karihaloo, and Katelynn Barlow, as well as the sponsors Elizabeth McKinley and Lambrini Nicopoulos. Dr. Raffetto recognized Zariah Hedge, Nikolas Reuter, Nikole Reuter, and their sponsor, John Michael Patterson. Van Wigginton recognized Sarah Smith and her sponsor Tanya Madrigal.
- 3. Jeff Parks recognized the Process Technology Team for Winning the North American Process Technology Alliance Troubleshooting Competition. Present for the recognition were Kenneth Jackson, Joseph Zwiercan, and Kevin Adams.

Student Success Presentations:

1. George González presented a report on spring certified headcount and FTIC Fall-to-Spring persistence rates.

Communications to the Board:

There were no communications to the Board.

Hearing of Such Citizens or Groups of Citizens Desiring to be Heard Before the Board: There were no citizens desiring to be heard before the Board.

Informative Reports:

Dan Mims indicated such reports were in the Board documents.

Motion 9777 Consideration of Approval of **Amendment to** the 2016-2017

Motion was made by Keith Sinor, seconded by Larry Wilson, for Approval of Amendment to the 2016-2017 Budget for Restricted Revenue and Expenses Relating to Federal and State Grants.

Motion Carried.

Budget for

Restricted Revenue and

Expenses Relating

to Federal and **State Grants**

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Navs: None

Consideration of Policy, Campus

Carry - First

Reading (Information

Only)

Informational item on Policy, Campus Carry – First Reading.

No vote needed.

Motion 9778 Consideration of Purchasing Requests

Motion was made by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, seconded by Brad Hance, for approval of the purchasing requests. Dan Mims stated Item CSP #17-16 was reviewed in the Board workshop with an updated amount of \$772,287.

CSP 17-16

Renovation of the South Campus Bruce \$772,287

Student Center - Phase 1

Purchase Request #1

Renew Contract for Electrical Maintenance Services 200,000

Purchase Request #2

Graduation Event License 100,000

Purchase Request #3

Renew Contract for Consumable Welding Products 55,000

Purchase Request #4

Ratification of North Campus Center for Industrial Technology

Substantial Completion

Purchase Request #5

Audio Visual, Security and Cabling Supplies and Service 140,000

TOTAL OF PURCHASE REQUESTS \$1,267,287

Motion Carried.

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Nays: None

Motion 9779 Consent Agenda Motion was made by John Moon, Jr., seconded by Larry Wilson, to

approve the consent agenda.

Motion Carried.

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Nays: None

Adjournment:

Meeting Adjourned at 7:30 p.m.